Cold burns

You, My love are like ethanol,

cool on the skin

but burning when coursing through my body.

The warmth radiates from my insides from

how you touched my soul with love.

You’re the voice that I hear,

the fantasies that intoxicates me.

Hallucinations of all we will ever be.

I’m not drunk from your love

but the hurt that broke me.

Poison my body, staying weak so

I will not think of you.

So that my clearest days are that much

close to just a drink of the devil.

Here I am holding a bottle of vodka.

An arm reach away from the sky,

thinking of all we could be

when my soul has left my body,

cold, like ethanol on skin.

Leave a Reply

